By John P. Simko, PDD - CEA State Public Relations Chair

The gym at the Mahoney Rec Center in Manchester was filled with family and friends rooting on the 24 children competing in the 2018 CEA State Finals of the ELKS Hoop Shoot. The participants competing here started their journey by winning at their local Lodge competition. From there they faced off against other local Lodge winners within their District, again winning their age group and coming here on February 10th to compete with hopes of moving to New England Region 6 Hoop Shoot contest in South Portland, Maine on March 24, 2018.

CEA Hoop Shoot State Chairman Michael Stewart, SVP (East), PDD, his District Chairs as well as all the judges, scorekeepers and volunteers should be commended on their great effort for holding a very successful competition.  After the competition all the participants, their family and friends, as well as the volunteers and CEA representatives were invited to a hearty lunch and an award presentation at the Manchester Elks Lodge #1893. During the awards presentation all the competitors received trophies from the CEA Vice Presidents while the top award winners were presented the Terry Owens Trophy by CEA State President Donna Wallace, PDD.  All 1st place winners will now move on to compete in the New England Region 6 competition in South Portland, Maine, with the winners moving on to the National “Hoop Shoot” Final in Chicago on April 21, 2018.

The CEA Hoop Shoot 1st place winners and moving on to compete in South Portland, Maine

8-9 Year Olds: Ava Storz, Milford Lodge #1589, Carl Parkhouse, Torrington Lodge #372

10-11 Year Olds: Emily Avel, Winsted Lodge #844, Will Parkhouse, Torrington Lodge #372

12-13 Year Olds: Erin Donegan, Milford Lodge #1589, Connor O’Leary, Glastonbury Lodge #2202

Terry Owens Trophy Award Winners for Top Scores:

Ava Storz, Milford Lodge #1589, Carl Parkhouse, Torrington Lodge #372.  


*** If you are interest in helping the CEA Hoop Shoot Committee please contact:

CEA State Chairman Michael Stewart, SVP (East), PDD

CEA Central District Chair George Gilhuly

CEA Coastal District Chair Dave Nagy

CEA East District Chair Mary Hill

CEA Northwest District Chairs Jim & Jean Weingart

All contact information is in the State Directory on WWW.CTELKS.ORG